Non science majors/research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bbas

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For the non science majors out there, how did you go about getting research experience? From what I have heard, it's pretty hard to find research opportunities in the natural sciences if your not majoring in it.

Members don't see this ad.

yknow... there are research opportunities outside the natural sciences :)

stherling said:

I graduated with a languages major, minored in the sciences and I am currently working in a medical research lab. I have had pretty much no research experience in undergrad besides lab courses in the sciences.

It is possible to get lab research experience as a non-science major. Don't let others tell you it's not. You'll just start off as an assistant, technician, etc...but you learn a lot of about the research you're doing.

I'd say just post your resume at all the research opportunities that are available, express your interest for the job, and wait to hear from them.
Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
hiya,

i'm taking classes at ucla extension at night (it's an informal certificate kinda post bacc program) and working full time during the day to put myself through school.

i was a cello performance major in college and had no laboratory experience. i applied to tons of places at ucla (which, btw, is a hell of a hard place to get a job like mine) and personally delivered all of my resumes to make sure they got into the right hands. you're right, it's tough to get hired when you have no real lab experience other than maybe organic chemistry lab...a lot of people just glossed over my resumes, but it only takes one. =)