Non-Trad D.O./M.D. Admissions Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CJW

CJW
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!
I am new to SDN and I am seeking some advice. I am 33 y/o and I have decided to change my career and pursue my life long dream to become a physician. My early undergraduate days parallel the Animal House movie and my academic performance reflects such activities. I have spent the last several years completing graduate degrees to improve my academic record. Here are my stats:

B.S. Psychology, Missouri State University, GPA 2.49 (Major GPA 2.89)
M.B.A. Business Administration, Maryville University, GPA 3.48
M.I.M. Information Management, Washington University in St. Louis, GPA 3.5
Post-Baccalaureate Premed Program, Washington University in St. Louis, (Accepted - Start in the summer of 2007)

Cumulative Student Loan Debt: 80,000

My father, uncle, and cousin attended KCOM

Questions:

If I perform well in the Wash U post-bac program, will I be competitive to apply at D.O. schools? M.D. schools?

Am I a competitive candidate for admission to a post-bac linkage program?

Given the current amount of my student loan debt, will I be able to get enough additional federal loans to cover the cost of medical school on top of what I already have?

Am I heading down the right path to pursue medical studies given my current plan?

Any advice is appreciated!

CJW

Members don't see this ad.

What prereqs have you taken for med school (i.e. organic, bio)? Depending on how many classes you have completed you may not even need the post bac. Depending on you science grades you should be competative for DO, and maybe on the edge for Allopathic.