Non-Traditional Student, Evaluate My Application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KanTuck22

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
This is my first attempt at getting into pharmacy school and wasn't sure what my application looked like in comparison to others applying. I am a non-traditional student in my early 30s.

Undergrad GPA = 3.2
Undergrad Science=3.2
Graduated with B.S. in Agricultural Science, Minored in Biology

Completed Master of Science in Animal Agriculture
Graduate GPA= 3.8
Graduate Science GPA = 3.9
Biochemistry GPA=3.5 with 6 hours taken

PCAT Score = 79 composite

I have worked in the veterinary pharmaceutical industry for roughly 4 years.......

IMO, those are impressive stats. Your PharmCAS GPA might be a bit lowered if you have retaken courses that were D's and F for grades because PharmCAS calculate all grades. It could go down to 2.8,but that still wouldn't harm you too much if you you have higher trend in grades or you took more advance classes in the subject you got Cs in and did better. This seems so with biochemistry. Your graduate degree and gpa should give you an edge. Your bachelor degree WILL give you an edge.

Your work experience is impressive.
They say a 70 PCAT makes you competitive, and yours a 79 so that's that.

All in all, if you have a sincere personal statement, i'd say it's a guaranteed acceptance.

If you let them know on your PS why you really want to do pharmacy and what your motivation are truthfully, then that would look good. Maybe talk about whether you are more interested in the applied or research aspect of pharmacy. Talk about why you would want to work in industry, clinical, or retail maybe. Other truthful motivation won't harm, trust your instinct.

What kind of man are you? a research man or an applied man? --- and why not med school?