Non-traditional Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kmjx65

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm new to this forum and have recently decided to pursue a career in veterinary medicine and am looking for some advice.

Here is my background. Unfortunately my undergrad did not have the best policies in place to assist students with pursuing their career of choice. Our school actually forces students to decide a major during sophmore year. If we didn't, we weren't allowed to register for the next quarter. This results in many student changing their major...about an average of 8 times during the course of their undergrad career. Lame right?

Anyway, I graduated in 2005 with a BA in English. English wasn't my first choice but my credits only allowed me to apply to the English department. Anyway, I wavered between various career field - dental, medical, economics, journalism, and law. I took several science courses in undergrad: biology, gen chemistry, ochem, biology, and physics. I never completed the full year's worth of the course series for each...I mostly took 2 out of the 3 classes in a series. Made grades were an average of 3.1...not that great but I did work about 3 jobs concurrently throughout my undergrad career. I was also very active in my sorority and in the community - not animal related though.

I graduated with the intention of applying to law school. I have been working at a law firm for the past 3 years...I definitely enjoy the work but have found that most attorneys are dissatisfied and my interest in the field diminished.