Non-Trads and Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BioshockGal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am mostly an occasional lurker on this board, but you all seem like an ok group, so I thought I would shoot out a question:)

I am a non-trad student. Basic stats:
-1 prereq left that I am taking this summer (math)
-MCAT is in 23 days, and I plan to apply this year.
-Undergrad from a good school, very good GPA
-J.D. from a top 20 school
-A TON of clinical (very high patient contact) and volunteer experience
-Great letters of rec from 3 science professors, 1 employer, 1 volunteer supervisor.

My dream would be to apply to MSTP programs with a PhD in Epidemiology. The problem is that I don't have any true traditional research experience (though I would argue that a JD and the law-related research positions I held were good preparation for a PhD in Epi, whereas they would not be a good prep for a PhD in a wet science).

Most of the programs out there that take undergrads as research assistants require that you actually be a student of the university. So....ideas? It has been suggested that if I start knocking on doors of people at universities and offer my services for free, I may get a nibble. Is this realistic? Has anyone else had any luck getting a traditional research assistant position as a non-traditional student? I realize that I am too late to get any research experience in time for this year's applications, but I can always re-apply to MSTP after the first year of the MD program (at most schools).

Alternatively, is there anyone who has applied and successfully gotten into a non-wet-science MD/PhD program and wants to share info/point me to a thread where someone has shared info?