Apr 23, 2010
San Jose, CA
Status (Visible)
Hi all,

I'm new to SDN. This is actually my very first time posting. I was hoping someone out there would be kind enough to read my post and offer some advice (or any necessary constructive criticism... or maybe even a few words of encouragement!). Thank you in advance!

A little about myself...
I earned both my BS and MS degrees in engineering from a prestigious engineering school (not a great pre-med/science school though) though. My undergrad GPA is 3.4 (great for engineering at my school, not great for med school applications). My science GPA is right around 3.2. I was able to improve during my grad degree and earned a 3.9 GPA. I took the MCAT towards the end of college and earned a 26Q. I am sure this was partly due to lack of studying (I was taking a full courseload and working part time and doing research for my Master's)... but regardless, I was disappointed in my score because I knew I needed to make up for my low GPA. I applied to many med schools and only received 1 interview, and 0 acceptances. I was totally crushed and decided to head out into the working world as an engineer. I was so upset and just wrote off the idea of going to medical school, telling myself "it's just not meant to be."