NONTRADITIONAL APPLICANT -- PLEASE HELP advice needed!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peplau225

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I am a nontraditional applicant looking for advice...

I graduated from undergrad from a Big 10 school in Dec 2011 (GPA: 3.55), and immediately jumped into grad school (M.S. program) January 2012 at a prestigious university. I did well while enrolled in this program (3.65) but I decided that I did not like the program at all, and I decided to withdraw. I then decided to enroll in a MPH program at my undergrad institution (GPA: 3.75), mostly so that I could postpone payment on my student loans. Currently I am working full time (no choice... I have to afford to live somehow!), while continuing classes towards my MPH, and now I am looking to apply to medical school. I would ideally like to go to medical school at the same school that I am enrolled in the MPH, but I would very much like to apply to other schools. However, I am concerned that all potential schools will see is two unfinished graduate programs. Does anyone have any advice?? Thank you in advance!

GPA: stated above
MCAT: Take in two weeks. Practice exams are going well - aiming for a 30+.
Other: 3 1/2 years tutoring biology, anatomy, physiology, genetics and algebra. 3 years research experience. Been working at my job now for almost a year. Been honored by Governor of my state for volunteer efforts.

Members don't see this ad.

I would finish the MPH program to show that you possess follow-through. Plus, an MPH should be beneficial when applying to medical school. Many medical school programs offer dual MD/MPH to help students become prepared for public health and occupational health-related physician careers.

Reactions: 1 user