nontraditional - do I use my previous career as diversity?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted861943

I worked in business before deciding to change careers. When asked "how will you bring diversity to our university," I'd like to talk about my business experience, explaining how I can apply it to medicine and share my knowledge with the student body - all of which I genuinely believe.

On the other hand, I grew up in a blue-collar town and I almost went into a trade, but chose college instead. I'd also like to write about my blue-collar upbringing as a way I'll bring diversity. This seems like a bit more of what they are getting at by asking about diversity.

As a nontraditional student, I feel like I should use those nontraditional experiences to show how I will make me a great doctor. But I also don't want to sound privileged by talking about the good paying job I left...

Does anyone have thoughts on this? Which direction would you go?

Members don't see this ad.

Just being a non-trad yourself brings diversity to a Class. I think that if you use both, it's fine. And it's not about what you bring to Medicine, it's to the Class.

Reactions: 1 user
That makes sense. Thanks for reminding me that this is about the class. I'll keep that focus.

This may be an impossible questions since I'm asking you to read minds and over generalize... but I'd like to hear your thoughts....

If write about my work experience, is that more or less redundant because my non-trad status is already a dimension of diversity? If so, I should make the most of the space and write about something to don't already know, like my childhood. Or will they see I'm a non-trad and find it odd I didn't focus more on that?

Members don't see this ad :)