Nontraditional student -- best options?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

strange_alchemy

Reaction score
As the title says, I'm a nontraditional student. I got an AA in Psychology and a BA in Criminal Justice with a minor in psychology before entering the military, where I worked law enforcement primarily. I was medically discharged from the military after 4 years, and now I'm at a crossroads. I had two backup ideas as I was leaving the military: digital forensics and forensic psychology. I went with the former because I thought it would be less competitive. I'm halfway through an MS in Digital Forensics (for which I'm paying with a veterans benefit that ISN'T the GI Bill), and I'm enjoying it, but I've found that I spend nearly all of my downtime reading psychology papers and journals. I don't have a strong interest in doing publishing research, but I find myself thinking about applications to clinical practices.

Perhaps it's nothing more than FOMO or doubt in my own competency, but I would like to pose the question: supposing I don't go into digital forensics and make the pivot to psychology, what would be my best options?

My community college GPA and university GPA for psychology were both 3.8. I entered the military straight from university, so I don't have any publications or posters, nor do I have research experience. I currently work as a behavior technician at a clinic specializing in autism, where I'm providing therapy with a supervisor present, documenting and graphing the child's progress, etc. I'm enjoying this and would love to be able to provide therapy without supervision and on my own terms (I wish I could give some of these kids assessments). I'm waiting to hear back on a digital forensics internship, but the longer I work here, the less I care about the internship. (I don't think I'd stay in autism, though.)