Nontraditional student with a 2.87 (MD/DO): Need some advising?

D

deleted913644

I graduated with a low g.p.a, 2.87 in Biology on the pre-med track. With a low grade point average, I could not get into any post-bacc program because they required at least a 3.0.
So to boost my chances, I am taking my prerequisites at a local community college. I only have five more courses to go and then I'll take the MCAT in September. I researched and someone said that medical schools only take community college prerequisites only if they are taken with a four-year degree. If I need to take my prerequisites after my bachelor's, it should be a post-bacc program at a university. Am I on the right track, taking courses to boost my g.p.a to get into a post- bacc for med school?

D

deleted1085158

PCOM's master's program clearly states that they accept community college credits for the prereqs. Don't listen to other people.

Whatever you choose to do, you have to get very high grades to make your case. There is no reason not to get a 4.0 at the community college.

Reactions: 1 user

Goro

SDN Gold Donor
10+ Year Member
Jun 11, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status (Visible)
  1. Non-Student
So to boost my chances, I am taking my prerequisites at a local community college. I only have five more courses to go and then I'll take the MCAT in September. I researched and someone said that medical schools only take community college prerequisites only if they are taken with a four-year degree. If I need to take my prerequisites after my bachelor's, it should be a post-bacc program at a university. Am I on the right track, taking courses to boost my g.p.a to get into a post- bacc for med school?
As a non-trad, you'll get cut more slack for taking courses at a CC, especially is finances are an issue. But it is best to take more rigorous courses at a four year school.

Read this:

About the Ads

jhmmd

supernatural
Apr 28, 2020
on the wall