Northwestern vs. Loyola Chicago post-bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rainandsleep

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Chicago post-bacc students, please share your wisdom!

I'm a first-year student (taking chemistry and physics) in Northwestern's post-bacc program, and a combination of several factors has me seriously considering transferring to Loyola's program for my second year (organic chemistry and biology). Below are my thoughts/concerns/questions- any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Organic chemistry at Northwestern is notoriously difficult and the exams do not fairly test what is learned. The rigor of NU classes is supposedly going to be beneficial when studying for the MCAT- has anyone found this to be true? Would I be worse off in the future if I took classes at Loyola instead? In addition, the course evaluations for biology made it clear that the teaching for that class leaves much to be desired.

The advising at Northwestern is basically non-existent. There is a pre-med adviser for post-bacc students, but I have gotten more clarity regarding things like research, volunteering, and scheduling my MCAT test date from SDN. Loyola seems to have a much more supportive environment, and the committee letter of recommendation sounds like a wonderful bonus.

My concerns about transferring to Loyola:
- The cost. I work full time at Northwestern, so I get a hefty tuition discount on classes that are cheaper than Loyola's to begin with.
- Northwestern offers evening classes, while it sounds like Loyola only offers classes during the day.
I also wonder if it would look "bad" to have transferred post-bacc programs when it comes time for orgo.

I have found a few threads with similar discussions, but all are several years old (and Northwestern's program still seems to be finding its footing...). Any insights would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.