Not feeling confident to dental

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ineed2getin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know im just a random stranger on the internet, but i think yall might be able to help me. I have applied to pharmacy schools and have already gotten accepted to one. Pharmacy is not something that I have always wanted to do, in fact its something that I have been pressured to do because of my low gpa. in fact, i came into college knowing that i wanted to do dentistry. I have mostly B's in my science courses with the exception of 2 C's. Im currently in my 3rd year second semester with an overall gpa of 3.5 and a science gpa of 3.1. This gpa is not good enough for dental schools and my brothers told me that I have no chance of getting into dental school. They keep telling me that I am not smart enough, and I wont be able to do well regardless of how much I study. I am a first generation student going to college. it has been really hard on my side because my brothers constantly tell me that no one is smart in our family and no one is capable of doing well in studies or scoring high. i am just in the lowest point of my life now, I dont feel confident anymore. dental school is way more competitive to get in with more than 2,000 applicants applying to a single school with 80 seats available. these numbers scare me even more. i really want to do dentistry but i feel like if i go and do that, i will be a failure, and my brothers will be right.

Members don't see this ad.