Not Sure If I should Be a Doctor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

careersearcher24

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a pre-med student at a top 40 university in the US. Recently, I have been struggling on whether medicine is right for me. I'm just going to go all in and lay my life out in this post. I know it is long, but please, try to bear with me if possible. My situation is quite complex, and am going to be brutally honest here since we are in a safe place. My entire life I was about 85 percent sure I wanted to become a doctor. To be honest, my reasons were: I want a somewhat goodlifestyle and income, I love biology and natural science, job stability (not much of a risk taker) and I love people (I get attached to people quite quickly, and do have a warm heart). However, I would not characterize myself as one of those people who wakes up in the morning, yearning to help society to an extreme, especially when I myself have many problems to deal with first, but of course, I would enjoy helping people.