Not sure if it is appropriate to use observation/ "volunteer" hours in resume

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SSSTwenty

Reaction score
Thank you for the help in advance to those reading this as I am a bit lost as to where to go from here. I graduated a year early from college in the spring of 2018 with a Bachelor's in Biology with a concentration in Pre-Medicine. I did not do a great deal of preparation in college due to a combination of mental health issues, low self-esteem, and laziness (Not trying to make excuses for myself. I merely understand that all of this greatly contributed). Since graduating, my focus has been on completing observation/ “volunteer” hours in physical therapy clinics to prepare myself for applying to PT school which is no easy task. I have since completed those hours, 300 total to be exact, and I wish to get myself out there in my chosen field. I am also preparing for the GRE at the moment.
First and foremost, I have no job experience at all. That being considered, I suppose I have two questions. I understand that I have a variety of different entry level jobs available to me in the biological field, but was needing to create a resume more geared towards physical therapy tech positions as well. I mentioned before that I acquired 300+ service hours. While completing those hours, I took notes and asked several questions when the shadowed therapist was most available related to both treatment of the patient and the conditions those patients had while googling more common place things like medical jargon and abbreviations used in paperwork. My question related to that is, am I allowed to make mention any of this in the experience or skills section of my resume although I was not allowed to do too great a deal of hands-on considering this was shadowing and not a clinical?