1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

NOVA students

Discussion in 'Optometry' started by chrissystar, Feb 28, 2007.

1. chrissystar

2+ Year Member

Pre-Optometry
    Hi!

I was wondering if current NOVA students can post their experiences. I would like to know what kind of clinical exposure you get during your initial years, and what you think of having classes with other professional students. Any other comments on living, lifestyle,etc would be great too!

Your honest opinions are appreciated! Im trying to choose between schools! Thank you! :)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Optiman

2+ Year Member

Optometry Student
    I am only a first year student at NOVA and so can only tell you of what I understand to be true of the next few years.
    I have no problems with NOVA. I feel that most students will get out of a program what they put into it. As far as clinical experience, the first year we shadow a third year student a few times a semester. Second year is the same as I uderstand it. Third year you work in the clinic 1-2 times a week (not sure). Fourth year is all clinical rotations. You rotate between clinics getting experience in different settings/specialties.

I dont have a problem with studying with other proffessional school students for the few classes we study with them. All combined school classes are basic science classes (Gross Anatomy, Physiology, Neuroanatomy, General Pharmacology). Even micro was optometry only so we could concentrate on occular microorganisms and treatments. The only thing I dont like is that dental students have been kicking our butts lately :(