Nuclear Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Imhotep

Attending
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All:

It's nice to see a sub forum dedicated to nuclear medicine. I am a nuclear medicine physician, and would be happy to answer questions regarding this field.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi All:

It's nice to see a sub forum dedicated to nuclear medicine. I am a nuclear medicine physician, and would be happy to answer questions regarding this field.

Two quick questions: How much money are you making? Why isn't nuclear medicine a popular career choice?

Salaries in private practice are quite nice....avg starting salary the past couple of years has been around 200k.

Reason for # 2 is lack of knowledge about the field.....a significant number of medical students seem to think that one needs to be a radiologist to do nuc med. Also, there are relatively few pure nucs people out there, so that perpetuates all sorts of misinformation ( e.g. from people who "know" someone who is a nuc med physician, or from those who have "heard" of this and that), several examples of which may be found on previous postings......

Members don't see this ad :)
Dear IMHOTEP
thanks for writing!
My question is there enough scope for research in Nuc med?
people who do only nuc med residency(& not radiology) Do they get a fellowship easily?
I've heard from friends that NUc med fellowships are preferrably given to rads residents & not nuc med, is that TRUE?
Also, after fellowship are there decent jobs if one wants to work as a a faculty in any university?

Nuclear medicine fellowships are only available to those who have completed a diagnostic radiology residency. For those with pure nuc background, there are PET/CT fellowships. Currently there are about 15-20 programs offering these.