goheh

(Instrumental Remix)
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jun 28, 2004
Missouri
Status
Non-Student
I'm currently in my first year of undergraduate college. The guy I work-study for is the pre-pharmacy advisor for my school, so only recently I've gotten in touch with the relatively 'quiet' field of pharmacy. I've shadowed a radiologist a couple of years ago and thought that was the best thing ever. However, the whole extremely competitive nature of allopathic medicine is a major turn-off for me. I heard of a subspecialty called "nuclear pharmacy" and decided to investigate.

I've tried contacting a few nuclear pharmacists whose email addresses I found visiting Purdue University's website, but all 15 except for one do not practice nuclear pharmacy anymore. What's a nuclear pharmacist's job like? What is similar/dissimiliar to a radiologist's job? Why is it so short-lived, or did I just run into bad luck? I don't even know how much they are compensated. So please, if you are a nuclear pharmacist now or in the past, inform me with all you know about this profession!

ultracet

1K Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 4, 2004
Visit site
Status
goheh said:
I'm currently in my first year of undergraduate college. The guy I work-study for is the pre-pharmacy advisor for my school, so only recently I've gotten in touch with the relatively 'quiet' field of pharmacy. I've shadowed a radiologist a couple of years ago and thought that was the best thing ever. However, the whole extremely competitive nature of allopathic medicine is a major turn-off for me. I heard of a subspecialty called "nuclear pharmacy" and decided to investigate.