NueroICU vs MICU Cases

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ProffesorOakDO

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I’m a PGY-1 Neurology resident. It’s going pretty well so far, I’m enjoying my internal medicine and neurology blocks. I finished my MICU rotation and I really liked the acuity and the variety of cases. My question is, how much “MICU problems” can a NeuroICU physicians competently manage. How are the patients different?

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to be be managing s/p cardiac arrest or ECMO patients. But it would be nice to have some variety and see like a septic shock or EtOH withdrawals, status, meningitis, drug overdose mixed in with the s/p tPA and post of NGSY patients, and other bread and butter issues.

What do y’all think?

Members don't see this ad.

At certain programs the NCC attendings when on call manage all critical care patients- not just neuro ones- I think UPMC is one of them. Some private hospitals here do so too. The stuff you mention we take care of in neuroICU too- status and meningitis

Hi, I’m a PGY-1 Neurology resident. It’s going pretty well so far, I’m enjoying my internal medicine and neurology blocks. I finished my MICU rotation and I really liked the acuity and the variety of cases. My question is, how much “MICU problems” can a NeuroICU physicians competently manage. How are the patients different?