Nursing to Pre-med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should I switch my major?

• yes

Votes: 3 75.0%
  • no

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters

Buckeye7521

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am a new member and was hoping to get some of your opinion's on my situation. I am currently a sophomore at a four year university majoring in Nursing and have a 4.0 GPA, but am having second thoughts about becoming a nurse. I originally went into nursing with the hopes of becoming a CRNA, but now am thinking I would like to become a physician. The only reason I am hesitant to switch my major is because I am afraid I won't do well in the undergrad courses, like O-chem, physics, etc. Is it possible to receive an A in these courses if I put enough time in? Also, do you think Med schools would look down upon me because I was originally a nursing major? Finally, if I was to switch my major I think it would be best I transferred schools, is this also looked down upon?

My parents really do not want me to switch my major because they are afraid I will not get into medical school, and then will be left with out a job and lots of student loans.

Members don't see this ad.

If you are not interested in becoming a nurse then it may make sense to switch away from nursing. However, 4/5 college graduates have a job that is unrelated to their major. Your major does not determine where you work or what you do although certain majors lend themselves to certain jobs more easily (example is engineering and nursing). Plenty of students get A's in o-chem, physics, and bio so yes it is possible. Getting an A in every class is not necessary to get into medical school as plenty of students earned B's and some even earned a rare C. Transferring schools does not really matter one way or another.

Reactions: 1 user