NYC AEGD / GPR Opinions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

avalanche

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking at the Non-Match List for GPR's and AEGD's in NY.
Especially the NYC areas ( Brooklyn, Bronx, Manhattan ).
Does anyone have any first hand knowledge of the quality of Post-Doc
in the area?

Here's a list -

GPR
Brookdale Hospital - Brooklyn
Kings County Hospital - Brooklyn
Kingsbrook Jewish Med. Cntr - Brooklyn
St. Vincent Catholic Med. Cntr - Brooklyn
Brooklyn Hospital Cntr - Brooklyn
Woodhull Med & Mental Cntr - Brooklyn
Wyckoff Heights Med. Cntr - Brooklyn
Coler-Goldwater Specialty Hosp - Roosevelt Island
Harlem Hospital Cntr - Manhattan

AEGD
Lutheran Med. Cntr - Brooklyn
Columbia Univ - Manhattan
NYU Univ - Manhattan

Of course, I'll have to have a look for myself, but any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently a resident at Kings County Hospital, and I can attest that the GPR program is exceptional in many ways. The GPR residents get a great deal of experience in all phases of dentistry, and there is certainly no shortage of patients. As with any GPR, the more you put into it, the more you get out of it. However, at Kings County, you will have the resources, the patients, and a staff of attendings that are both very knowledgeable and successful in private practice. Ask any graduate from the GPR program will tell you, you will finish you year confident to tackle any procedure or situation. The program takes quite a few GPR residents yearly (8 or 9), and half tend to go on and complete a specialty (OMFS, Pedo, Ortho, Endo, Perio...) and the rest tend to gravitate towards private practice. The program director, Dr. Berger, may seem quite daunting at first, however, he is exceptionally loyal to his residents, and if you are interested in specializing, he goes out of his way to give to exposure to your field of in