NYCOM vs. UMDNJ-SOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Notorious D.O.C.

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is my dilemma: I am a NJ resident who recently got accepted to NYCOM and UMDNJ-SOM. The deadline for me to submit the deposit for NYCOM is approaching and I need to make a decision. I don't want to waste $500. Which school is better???...I know NYCOM has great clinical affiliations in NY/NJ blah blah blah...and UMDNJ-SOM has a small class size and is a lot cheaper. What do you guys think? Is there a website out there that ranks the best osteopathic schools???

Any opinions/comments/thoughts/information would be GREATLY appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

You're making the decision more difficult than it needs to be:

GO TO UMDNJ-SOM!

Good luck.

I'm in the same situation, a NJ resident accepted to both NYCOM and UMDNJSOM. I have decided on UMDNJSOM. It has a small class size and cheap for NJ residents.

You have to decide what feels best for you. Go with your gut reaction and don't look back. Maybe we'll be classmates.

Members don't see this ad :)
You would be crazy if you decide to go to NYCOM.
UMDNJSOM is one of the premier DO schools in the country with an excellent faculty, resources, and
small student body. It also gets the most research money of all the DO schools. NYCOM, from what I hear, has bad administration, too many students (300 vs SOM 75!) and crazy exam schedule. Why not get a first rate education at a much cheaper school (UMDNJSOM)?

NYCOM's preclinical experience has got to be one of the worst of the osteopathic programs, but the clinical years are much better (so far). In contrast, UMDMJ-SOM 1st and 2nd years seem to be very satisfied with their school (I don't know about 3rd and 4th year there). Consider this when making your decision.

Krazykam-