NYU vs. Columbia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lovelyman271

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, if you guys are accepted to both schools, which school u guys gonna go to? I mean NYU facilities are all brand new (very nice), and Columbia school looks so old. Can you guys give both pros and cons of the both schools, why would u pick one not the other.

Members don't see this ad.

Here is what I have gathered after talking with serveral columbia D1's and being an NYU student myself. The NYU curriculum is sort of "front loaded". That is, you start out taking a lot of courses in a short amount of time and get most of your classes out of the way by the time third year rolls around. Columbia's first two years are much more about preparing for the boards. They take only board relavent classes in the first two years while at NYU we take many classes that won't be represented in the boards.

The plus side for Columbia students is that they are very well prepared for the boards and usually score quite a bit higher than NYU overall. The plus side for NYU students is that when third and fourth year roll around you are pretty much finished with large, stressful classes and you can spend a lot of time in the clinic.

This is the impression I'm getting from meeting students of both schools, could be inaccurate.

I would save $100,000 at Columbia. Seriously, I go to a school with nice facilities, good clinical reputation blahblah and is slightly cheaper than me for Columbia would have been. Wind the clock back a year and offer me $100k to go to CU and I'll see you in Washington Heights.

Members don't see this ad :)