OCHEM Road Maps DAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aliyoo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!! Ok so I am studying for the DAT (2nd time) and am struggling to make my self study ochem! I take the test in a couple weeks and am very worried about ochem. It was my lowest last time and am not feeling too much better about it. I have DAT Destroyer and know that those road maps are very helpful. I am wondering how to approach how to memorize them. Every time I look at them I just don't know where to start and there is 6 pages of them! Please any suggestions, I'm running out of time.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
You need to learn all the reactions first. Once you understand what's happening then look at the road maps.

Members don't see this ad :)
I felt the same way about OChem roadmaps. I ended up copying them word for word twice just too see all the reaction hand written. Personally though, flash cards with mechanisms worked better for me though. I felt like the road maps were to extensive and that just having 1/2-3/4 of the roadmap in generic reaction flashcards was plenty. Hope that helps a little. If you feel really stuck, cram all of chads ochem videos in!! I think there are 13 hours of video which could be easy done in 2 days!

You mean like draw them out?

Have you watched Chads videos yet?

Write down everything he writes/says, do chads quizzes, do dat destroyer once all the way through, look at roadmaps, then do destroyer two more times.

Recipe for 20+.

Personally I rewrote them on paper, once without the product, and once with one of the reactants (the arrow) missing. I made copies then filled in the blanks to see which reactions I knew and which I needed to review more. I did them every morning towards the end of my studies