Ode to OPD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lavenlian

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
After getting the news that I matched yesterday, I felt the need to post this before Friday not wanting this to get lost in the deluge of "I matched here, this is my #X program" posts.

A handful of you might have remembered my thread last year after it unintentionally started a post war between many of the respected posters here. At the time, I was a Carib graduate who was about to go for the Match the second time around with minimal Psych experience and borderline passing scores. I didn't have any traditional red flags but I had many issues with obtaining a Psych LOR the first time around. Also, I was contemplating taking the Step 3 exam.

I was chastised by a certain poster for not being responsible and told that given my previous poor performances on the Step exams, taking Step 3 was a bad idea and that it would have minimal effect on my application.

Enter OPD (whose commentary was co-signed by digitlnoize - thank you as well dn). OPD was extremely supportive of my situation, appreciated my candor, and told me that Step 3 would improve my chances. I scored higher on Step 3 than my previous Step exams and commenced applying for Psych the second time around.

23 invites, 22 completed interviews (where I spoke the truth about my situation and apparently wasn't deemed unresponsible), and 20 ranked programs later - I am happy to say that I am officially on my way to becoming a psychiatrist and I highly doubt that I would have been able to without the support and advice from OPD. Psych was competitive this year and rumor has it there are very few unfilled Psych positions in SOAP this year.