Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Ok, maybe im missing something (PTCB related)

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by iggles, Aug 16, 2011.

1. iggles

7+ Year Member

Sorry if this comes off as a rant but I am a little frustrated.
    Everyone on this forum is saying things like 'ptcb exam is super easy, i only studied for like 2 hours and passed!!
    To all of you who have taken the ptcb exam how does it compare to the practice exams on http://www.pharmacy-tech-study.com/
    I seem to get most of the calculations right but when it comes to the drugs and their functions i get stumped (i'm not very good at tasks involving sheer memorization). Taking these practice exams I usually get around 12/20 correct. My deadline is approaching in a month but I start school next week and wont have very much time to study for the exam. Should I get a refund and take the exam later or should I just go ahead and take it now?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. xNeenax

xNeenax Delano's Minion
    2+ Year Member

Hello,

I was worried about the test just like you. I didn't know any drugs and their effects and I still passed. I just made sure I knew the math, laws, abbreviations, etc. Basically I just studied everything on that site except anything related to drugs. Also, I was getting the same scores you were getting, but the questions are good practice for the PTCE.
    I studied for a week while I was taking classes, so don't stress about it. If you got the math down then you're fine.

4. iggles

7+ Year Member

may i ask what your exact score was?

5. xNeenax

xNeenax Delano's Minion
    2+ Year Member

My score on the PTCE? I thought I was barely going to pass with a 72 or something, but my grade instead was an 80. :)
    It's really nothing to stress.
    Math is about 70% of the test, so it's ok if you don't know anything about drugs. I didn't know anything about drugs and still did fine.

6. xtsukiyox