1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Old Tests in D-school

Discussion in 'Dental' started by Cofo, Apr 29, 2007.

1. Cofo

Cofo Super Cool Member
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    I was reading in a recent thread about how to succeed in D-school. Many people said they got old tests. I am an undergrad, and I am a little interested in these old tests.... What are the old tests, exactly? Are they tests that the students that are 1 year ahead of you, give you? Who gives you these "old tests"....WHO gives you these old tests? How do you get one? Also...be honest with your answers...is it easy to get an A on a test by studying old tests, or is it easier to get an A just by studying hard?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. dinesh

dinesh Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Dentist
    You get tests from the class ahead, or maybe a few years ahead. THings get passed down and added to.

Sometimes,you are lucky to ahve a great classmate, who has and isn't worried about lending you.

As for my university, ther eis a 'bank' of final questions. Say maybe 20 for the essays.
    They draw from the same pool of questions each year. Why?Because realistically, there are only so many things, for example in Oral Physiology that you can ask. Once you do all the past papers, covering each topic, you're good to go.

Of course, studying BEFORE you start doing past papers is better ;0

4. I'mFillingFine

I'mFillingFine Pulptastic
    5+ Year Member

Dental Student
    In my school you have a big brother or sister who gives you all the materials he has collected from past "Bigs" as well as anything he added from his own first year. (Sorry for male pronoun - hey, it's proper grammar!) Some of this stuff includes old exams.