Older applicants (~30), I need advice...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

C.A.R25

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
How much is an older applicant disadvantaged if he/she decides to work for couples of yrs (like about 5yrs) and during that same time probably retake any courses back in college etc to improve their strengths?

Here is a little bit of information about my self...

I am a permanent resident of Maryland, I moved from Jamaica about 2yrs ago (I guess people could consider me an URM since I am black)

Presently I attend the University of Maryland, Baltimore county (UMBC) and my freshman yrs have truly sucked with pure Cs. since I have been sophomore things have been much better (last semester my GPA was 3.0 -- because a bio 302/ genetics =(, retaking it now... and if I work a little harder, I should be getting a 3.5 by the end of this semester (an A in orgo, I thought you guys said it was hard :) )

Err if you wana know my total GPA stuff now (I know some of you are probably laughing, I feel ashamed...

Freshman yrs...
1st sem-- 1.98 (one D in intro Bio Lab (retoke got A)
2nd sem-- 2.0 (2 W's retok class and got a B)
3rd sem-- 2.0 (one D in calc)

Sophmore yrs...
4th sem (3.0... got C in bio302 (less than 1% below a B :(
5th sem (estimated to be 3.5 end of this semester)

I got about 4yrs of school left, considering the paramedic track is so damn long... 1200hrs of clical rotations in STC, emergency medicical centers at John Hopkins and Mercy Medical center.... drawing blood, taking vitals, filling histories etc. (and I get to dissect cadavers at the med school here when I start :D, should be a GREAT learning experience.)