Older Student Going to Med School - Advice Needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BZ1984

Reaction score
Good Day,

So I am an older individual. I’m considering a career change. I have been practicing pharmacy in a hospital (have a PharmD) for over 10 years. The profession has changed and I find myself hating it.

I would like to advance myself (and yes make more money - since I'm single and I would like to retire before 80 years old!) – however, I am a 37-year-old single lady and I don’t want to spend my entire life in school. I have a lot of hobbies and things in life that I would like to do.

I’m considering Ross Medical School for a few reasons: 1- They have an accelerated program. 2- They are willing to override the basic 101 class requirement ( > 10 years old – most US schools will consider them invalid). 3- They have scholarships. My undergrad GPA (not that it matters) was 4.0 and my graduate (pharmacy school) GPA was 3.5.

I have not taken the MCAT YET! I just made this decision yesterday.

Given my age and current quality of life/lifestyle (I LOVE to travel – COVID’s put a halt on it) – I am afraid. There is a lot of uncertainty going on…
1- Is this the right move?
2- How do I study for the MCAT? What would be the best way to study for it when I work full time + have other obligations at home
3- My Brain’s capacity to study in general? I was never been book smart – but I’m very good at concepts that require ACTUAL THINKING/understanding vs memorizing.

Any advice/thoughts are appreciated!

PS. Feel free to privately message me

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

The accelerated program only really saves times if you start at a certain application cycle, otherwise, while you may finish slightly quicker, you'll still be waiting for the same match year as everybody else.