OMF with new boards

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Toofdr

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been searching this forum since I was a pre-dent but finally have a question I haven't seen covered much so I joined up. A little bit about me, I am a first year dental student and I hit the ground running and have been keeping mid A's in all of my classes. I have done some assisting/observing in our OMF clinic and have really taken a liking to it. Other interests have come from shadowing an OMF surgeon before dental school and having a family member that is a general but loves to take 3rds out so I've seen a lot of those and liked it. I like to work hard, long hours but I still like to have fun with classmates and friends. So now that you know a little about me I just wanted to get some suggestions about how I should plan out my next few years of dental school if I want to pursue this very interesting specialty. Along with keeping grades up and interacting well with faculty, what else should I be doing? From what I have read on here intern/externships are very important for seeing if this is for me but what timeline should I do those? I also read 2 week intern/externships are pretty good so I imagine I could fit 2-3 in one 6 week summer? I am also interested in research, did any of you guys do it over the summer or fit it into your 3rd and 4th year semesters? How will the pass/fail board exams affect what I need to focus on for my resume?

I know this is long but I spent a good amount of time here and there researching this topic on SDN. If you have a link to another topic that could help please share the wealth. :D

Members don't see this ad.

You're on the right track.

- Try to stay in the top 10% of your class. Traditionally I believe top 20% would have been okay but since there is no board score, class rank will probably be weighted more heavily.