OMFS application question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JayMMWen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Quick question here.

Some background - I graduated in 2015, did a GPR and worked in private practice for ~5 years. Decided to pursue OMFS and have already secured a Non-cat internship for July 2022-2023. CBSE is already taken.

At what point should I apply in PASS/MATCH?

Option 1) Apply in May 2022 (Feb 2023 match) - will need to get internship LORs in the first 2 months, and submit application by Sept?
Option 2) Apply in May 2023 (Feb 2024 match) - will have a gap of 1 year between internship and residency

What have other people usually done in the past?

Members don't see this ad.

Go with option 1 even before Sep. as long as you have 3 LOR (from dental OMS faculty, chair etc) so you can submit you application.
If your internship program director/attendings are willing to provide you with LOR they can submit it later before the dealdline of desired programs you applying to.
You can attach up to 5 letters but you need minimum of 3 letters to submit you app.

Go with option 1 even before Sep. as long as you have 3 LOR (from dental OMS faculty, chair etc) so you can submit you application.
If your internship program director/attendings are willing to provide you with LOR they can submit it later before the dealdline of desired programs you applying to.
You can attach up to 5 letters but you need minimum of 3 letters to submit you app.

Thanks for the reply.

What if I don't have any meaningful LORs (eg. only dentists I've worked with, clinic professors)? I doubt any OMFS professors in school remember me and I am dependent on the internship for LORs.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the reply.

What if I don't have any meaningful LORs (eg. only dentists I've worked with, clinic professors)? I doubt any OMFS professors in school remember me and I am dependent on the internship for LORs.