OMFS Residency Please Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kamalraed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a freshly graduate international Dentist and a new landed immigrant in Canada, I have my mind sent on OMFS residency in USA as chances are much smaller here in Canada, the problem is that I need to be here in Canada for the next 2 years (immigration rules) so I want to know during those two years what can I do to improve my CV or my application for an OMFS residency position in USA as am planning to apply for it after I finish my 2 years. Of coarse sitting at home and studying for the nbde alone wont help.
I tried research but couldn’t find any research in OMFS in Canada even as a volunteer.
Do you think an observer ship will help? Do u think registering in some CONTINUING DENTAL EDUCATION courses at uni of Toronto will help
(Ones related to surgery of coarse)?
I mean I realize I need to be doing something to improve my application but I don’t know what.
I will extremely appreciate any guidance

Members don't see this ad.

3 things:
-get a US dental degree (DMD or DDS): MANY programs cant/wont take you with out
-become a US perm resident (greencard)
-rock part 1

Those 3 things will improve your odds of matching in the US more than anything else.

mmm makes sense
Well am a Canadian perm resident so in 2 years I will get the passport
and am in the process of applying to a Canadian dental school to get a Canadian DDS/DMDwhich is accredited in the states, but it needs time (an exam in may then interview next December then practical exam February) so it will take me some time to get into a dental school about a year and half, their should be something I can do during this time.
And what about the continuing dental education courses does it help at all?

Members don't see this ad :)