OMG!!! please help me

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Femtochemistry, Jun 12, 2002.

  1. Femtochemistry

    Femtochemistry Skunk Works

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    21
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Do medical schools want your SAT scores? Do you have to put them in your AMCAS? my sat scores very LOW (980).
     
  2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. I wanna slap u...some schools like baylor ask for it....but it doesn't mean anything...seriously, stop panicking.....

    if anything, it will show how much u dramatically improved on ur sat to mcat :D
     
  4. Tweetie_bird

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    if SATs were that important, there would be no MCATs. :)

    I personally don't think the SAT's are that important. Let's say that you got a 100% on verbal in SATs but got a 4-7 on MCATs, it *may* raise a red flag. Again, I believe this is what your high school GPA is for too. I don't know much about why they don't need this info, but I can tell you that I don't think they look at it too much. Other opinions?
     
  5. Femtochemistry

    Femtochemistry Skunk Works

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    21
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    So i do have to put my SAT scores on the AMCAS? If yes, i dont really exactly know my score, 980, 960 something like that.
     
  6. Tweetie_bird

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    it's listed in your OT from the college you matriculated at, after grad. high school.

    Check it out on there.
     
  7. Femtochemistry

    Femtochemistry Skunk Works

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    21
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Sorry to bother u again tweetie, so i do have to put the score in my AMCAS?
     
  8. Tweetie_bird

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have filled out most of the AMCAS (except PS and Post Sec Exp) and I have not yet seen a place to put down my MCAT score. The only thing relating to high school that I had to put on AMCAS was the NAME (along with other colleges/unis attended).

    I don't see a place on AMCAS where we need to put down anything related to our GRADES or SAT info. :) Did you check your OT to see if your HS info is included on there?? Most college OT's are a bit longer than the unofficial OTs (atleast the ones at my school). The HS name, GPA and SAT info should be on both, OT and un-OT.

    Tweetie
    PS: you're not bothering me. :)
     
  9. Femtochemistry

    Femtochemistry Skunk Works

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    21
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    I see. My low SAT score does not bother me since i am a changed man now: pulling a 3.7/3.9 (overall/science) GPA at Pitt <img border="0" alt="[Clappy]" title="" src="graemlins/clappy.gif" />
    Just got to work on that damn MCAT this august :(

    Thx a mill sweetie...ahh, I mean tweetie <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="wink.gif" />
     
  10. oldman

    oldman Senior Citizen
    Gold Donor

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,657
    Likes Received:
    40
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    don't worry about mcat/sat

    mcats are automatically entered in your amcas app by them (you don't enter it).

    sats aren't asked for until you get to secondaries. only a few schools asked for my sat scores.
     
  11. Femtochemistry

    Femtochemistry Skunk Works

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    21
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Thx guys! I love this board!! <img border="0" alt="[Lovey]" title="" src="graemlins/lovey.gif" />
     

Share This Page