On the Right Track for Practice Ownership?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PreDentGator2021

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am an incoming dental student on the HPSP Scholarship. As a Pre-Dent, my initial goal was to eventually purchase my own practice, but I thought that the military was the better decision due to the debt I would have to take out. At this point I plan to do the 1 Year AEGD and either separate at 31 as a general dentist, specialize through the military, or specialize after separation with the GI Bill (Still not 100% sure what path I want to take yet). I plan to max out my Thrift Savings Plan (military 401k), Roth IRA, and save up cash for a down payment on a practice. Am I missing anything, or is this a good general game-plan to hit the ground running as a practice owner after my time in the military is up?

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds like a good plan.

However...
One of the first lessons learned as a military officer is this quote by Carl von Clausewitz.
"Every plan is a good one - until the first shot is fired.”

Reactions: 1 users
Hi all,

I am an incoming dental student on the HPSP Scholarship. As a Pre-Dent, my initial goal was to eventually purchase my own practice, but I thought that the military was the better decision due to the debt I would have to take out. At this point I plan to do the 1 Year AEGD and either separate at 31 as a general dentist, specialize through the military, or specialize after separation with the GI Bill (Still not 100% sure what path I want to take yet). I plan to max out my Thrift Savings Plan (military 401k), Roth IRA, and save up cash for a down payment on a practice. Am I missing anything, or is this a good general game-plan to hit the ground running as a practice owner after my time in the military is up?