Only in Chicago. A stupid mistake?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kikaku21

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am considering applying ONLY in Chicago, which leaves Loyola, Rush, NU, Chicago, UIC, and Rosalind.

I feel like NU and Chicago are reaches, and the rest are relative safety schools. Considering I am an Illinois resident, I feel like I am likely to get in to UIC--given that I get in anywhere.

My stats are GPA - 3.69, MCAT - 35.

I just wanted to get an idea of how risky people think this is.

Members don't see this ad.

you probably will get into at least one of them, but why not add a couple nearby for good measure? MCW? SLU? possibly Midwestern (DO)?

your stats are more than good enough to get into all but UC and NU (provided you volunteered etc), but unless you really really need to be in the city, applying to less than 10 is kinda risky.

What about your ECs (volunteering, clinical, etc.)?

Sure, NU and Chicago are always crapshoots. And I know qualified people who didn't even get interviews at Loyola, but they tended to not have much community service on their app. Oddly enough, I've heard of people who get into Loyola with good stats who get rejected by Rush and UIC. These are all IL residents. It all seems a crapshoot to me. If I were you I might add a couple other schools to your list just in case. If you want to stay in the area, perhaps Univ of Wisconsin, MCW, etc. Your call. A lot of this probably depends on if you apply early, and what the other aspects of your app look like. Good luck.

Members don't see this ad :)
I would say you will def get into Rosalind adn UIC, prob get into Loyola and Rush, and Maybe get into UofC and NU

Risky. Search for the UIC thread that's active right now. There have been a few people with your stats and Illinois residency that haven't been accepted.