Opening line on the phone --job search

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gaba101

Doctor
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
what's a good opening line that asks whether or not they have any job openings and or are willing to consider you? the "Hi, my name is John Doe and I'm a 1st year student pharmacist at U of ____. I'm highly interested in working for your pharmacy and I'd like to you know if you are currently hiring" i think is a poor question that gets a very fast "no" from a busy pharmacy director who doesn't wish to deal with students. Like in patient counseling where we want to avoid yes/no questions, how do ask a good open-ended question to your potential employer over the phone that is sitll to the point?

Members don't see this ad.

"Hey..Y'all hirin??" should work...

I thought you wanted to work at two different community pharmacy settings, not inpatient.

The hospital should have an HR department or job openings listed online. Check those resources out before you call.
I had actually worked with the HR lady previously. We were friends and I was qualified for the position, so it all worked out (until they couldn't provide an intern position after I got into pharmacy school).

Members don't see this ad :)
what's a good opening line that asks whether or not they have any job openings and or are willing to consider you? the "Hi, my name is John Doe and I'm a 1st year student pharmacist at U of ____. I'm highly interested in working for your pharmacy and I'd like to you know if you are currently hiring" i think is a poor question that gets a very fast "no" from a busy pharmacy director who doesn't wish to deal with students. Like in patient counseling where we want to avoid yes/no questions, how do ask a good open-ended question to your potential employer over the phone that is sitll to the point?