Ophthalmology residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OPHTHOI

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am second year Internal medicine resident at top US residency programme .I am a Foreign Grad with residency in ophthalmology(3 yrs) back in my country.i wish to apply for ophthalmology residency now , just not sure how should i proceed and what are the chances of getting the residency?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm assuming you plan to start the application procedure this summer/fall, and thus complete your IM residency... unless you know of a PGY-2 vacancy?

Do you have Step III yet? That can be an issue with IMGs--as many have trouble on Step III.

Does your residency director like you? Will s/he give you a good reco? Is there an ophthalmology program associated with where you're doing medicine?

I would think that your chances are as good as any other IMG. Give it a try.

Know of a guy who was US-born but IMG....completed IM residency....did a pre-residency fellowship....and then ophthalmology residency. That could be an option for your transition year...as you already have it covered. Alternatively, as you already have an ophthalmology residency under your belt, perhaps you could apply for a fellowship targeting IMGs?

I may be wrong, but as far as I know (hearing from friends), completing another residency will not exempt you from repeating intern year. One guy from Egypt (this one I know for sure) completed residency in Medicine and then matched in Ophthal (he had very good scores). He had to redo intern year. Part or complete, another discipline residency years will not count for board certification, that's what I know. Sombody knows from first hand experience?

Members don't see this ad :)