Opinions of Spouses of OB/Gyns

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChasingMyDreams

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a pharmacist (4 years post PharmD) and my fiancee is a 4th-year medical student pursuing an OB/Gyn residency and possibly one of the surgical fellowships after. While researching the best ways to support her through this time in her career I have come across a large number of blogs and articles written by spouses of physicians. Unfortunately, most of these are from female perspectives (and often non-working housewives). Needless to say, this hasn't been very helpful.

I have a few male friends who are medical residents and practicing physicians and they told me that if the spouse of their female colleagues is not a physician they typically look down on them (the non-physician spouse). Clearly, this is a small sample size so I wanted to pose the question here to get a larger set of opinions.

I do reasonably well as a pharmacist and I am very passionate about my chosen career and really couldn't imagine a better field for myself, but I am a little worried about the perception of male spouses of female physicians in the physician community. I feel that if what my friends have told me is indeed true it could present some difficult situations and conversations for my fiancee and I (dinners, social events, general conversations among her physician colleagues).

What are your general opinions on this and what other opinions have you heard from your colleagues regarding this issue?

What are the best ways for me to support her during this time?

Note: We do not have any kids and do not plan on having any in the near future.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

1. How your wife feels is more important than others
2. Screw how others feel
3. It's not like you could change their opinion anyway if someone did feel that way.