Opinions quickly Please.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WannabeOrtho

Surgery Go'er
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Alright, might be switching to a 4 year university. I have 1 week before community college starts, and might switch to a 4 year before.

I was going to be a Nursing major, but I may switch to a Chemistry major.
Do medical schools like people with a chemistry major over a nurse major?

Need opinions quickly.

Justin

Members don't see this ad.

WannabeOrtho said:
Hello,

Alright, might be switching to a 4 year university. I have 1 week before community college starts, and might switch to a 4 year before.

I was going to be a Nursing major, but I may switch to a Chemistry major.
Do medical schools like people with a chemistry major over a nurse major?

Need opinions quickly.

Justin

I'm no pro, but I would definetely think med schools would look highly upon either of those degrees. Chemistry is a HARD major. Tons of calculus! YUCK!!!! BUt, it also shows lots of smarts and determination. Nursing, is by no means an easy degree to ascertain, however, be careful...We had one med school Dean of Admissions come to our school (U of U i think) who said that he would not even consider a nurse as an applicant becasue of the nursing shortage already in place, but I personally find that to be crap! I work with a bunch of nurses and respect each and every one of them a ton. It would be cool RN, MD/DO Plus, you hit clinicals outta the park. Good luck with whatever you decide!!!

Acceptance rates for Chemistry >> Nursing
Nursing is more of a specialized degree rather than a background science degree.

Members don't see this ad :)