Opinions

lily23

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been interested in Optometry for over ten years, and I've been preparing for the future profession for over three. I've worked at a private practice optometrists office since 2006, and I have over 100 hours of observation time (commercial, hospital, private practice, etc). I've taken the OAT twice now, the first time I got below 300 in three sections. I just took it again and now have a AA of 310.

QR: 300
BIO: 330
CHM: 300
OCM: 270
PHY: 310
RC: 310
TS: 310
AA: 310

I studied for over two months for this, using MCAT study guides, OAT study guides, full-length practice exams, etc. I even went to tutors for Physics and O chem. I've been passionate about this profession for so long and I feel like it's about to just be taken from me. The scores are better than how I did before, but the AA is the same. I've made the decision to not take the OAT again unless I don't get in this year. I'm struggling with what to do. My overall GPA is a 3.0 as well. I had a medical issue my freshman year, and I didn't know that I could pull out of the university for a semester while getting care. Right now my last 45 credit GPA (the system Pacific uses) is a 3.7. So it's obvious that I've had a large upward trend in grades within the last few years, its just hard coming back from a freshman year like mine. I've made the dean's list as well.

I've also worked almost full-time for the last few years while being a full-time student.

I've done so much research on the schools that I applied to, and I've worked so hard for this. I do already have an interview scheduled at St. Louis, and I'm just wondering what you all think about my chances of getting more interviews. Also, if St. Louis is the only interview I do get, what do you think my chances are of getting accepted to the school?

Thanks for reading, and thanks in advance for the advice :)

Members don't see this ad.

Congratulations on getting an interview @ st. louis!