Opportunities from PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medstart108

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a resident in a surgical specialty considering doing a PhD (4 yr) during residency in a basic science/translational lab. It is done by surgical residents in the past, but i'm wondering from those who have wet lab experience, what are the side benefits of doing a PhD other than running your own lab? I've never worked in a wet lab, only have done clinical research, but I've been pretty jaded by clinical research and I just don't enjoy it enough to want to really make it a big part of my career (I still enjoy it enough to make it a small part of my career though, a lot of doctors publish papers here and there but don't like run big clinical trials etc). Truthfully, I don't necessarily see myself running my own lab in the future as I want to be a good operative surgeon and I don't think I have time to do both well. I do see myself doing research (clinical and translational) and also doing something academic, like device development and/or implementation or even admin related like bringing in technologies, working with device companies etc. Does working in a wet lab have any sort of side benefits apart from running your own lab?

Members don't see this ad.

Basically no. The PhD is a waste of time, particularly wet lab, if you will not use it afterwards. If you want to invent new devices then get a proper BioE PhD and work for somewhere like Medtronic. You do not need a PhD to try out devices that are already invented and are in clinical trials

Reactions: 1 users
Basically no. The PhD is a waste of time, particularly wet lab, if you will not use it afterwards. If you want to invent new devices then get a proper BioE PhD and work for somewhere like Medtronic. You do not need a PhD to try out devices that are already invented and are in clinical trials