Optometry outlook/as a career?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LoganNC

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:

Last edited:
Before I get too many negative comments, I realize there is a search option, but my situation is unique and the searches I have read have not fulfilled my curiosity. I am an entering 3rd undergrad student majoring in public health/pre-health. Unlike my siblings, I have never KNOWN exactly what I wanted to do with my life. Healthcare has always been interesting to me because I have several health problems and have had tremendous exposure. Aside from an interest in healthcare in general I am not sure what route to go. My idealistic situation what put me helping people in a health field, making good money ($150k or more), having ample time with my family, and allowing me to volunteer abroad. How exactly to go about this, I am not sure. As far as optometry is concerned, my interest is sparked from my 22 years of life. My father is an optometrist in a solo-private practice in a rural community in NC. Needless to say, I have been exposed to the profession since day one. I have begun shadowing my father and think optometry would allow me to get the things I want out of life. If I decided to go the optometry route, I would have a practice with 2 offices and a prison site waiting for me upon graduation. My dad works 4 days a week and with perks makes over $200k/year. My fear lies in the stability of optometry. The fear is born of pure ignorance. My father doesn't like to talk too much about optometry because he doesn't want to make me feel obligated to follow in his footsteps. Recently he has seen a slight decline in patients due to the current economy. So with my background stated, here is where I am confused. Does the 5-10-20-30 year outlook for optometry look pretty stable? With more and more "strip mall" and Wal-Mart optometry