Optometry Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ballew21

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
What's up? I'm getting ready to apply to Optometry School for the Class of 2007 and I'm wondering if anyone on the board has any advice about interviewing for Opt. school, where they are applying, and the future of Optometry in general. I've worked for an Optometrist for the past 2 years in Indianapolis, so I have some knowledge of the field, what the job entails, etc. Thanks.

BTW, I'll be applying to IU (IN resident), ICO, OSU and MCO (Originally from MI) ...

Members don't see this ad.

Although I didn't apply to any of the schools you're looking at, I applied and was accepted to SUNY and Pacific University and declined an interview at Berkeley. The interviews were pretty typical. My day at SUNY started with an impromptu essay - they gave me 20 minutes. I had no choice in topics. I was asked on how I would act if a patient came to me with a condition that I could treat but that would not be covered by the patient's insurance carrier if the patient was not a referral (I think this is common since O.D.'s are not considered physicians by carriers and their patients are often not covered by insurance). The interview consisted of a