SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Organic and Physics Lab...?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by docmira, Jan 13, 2002.

  1. docmira

    docmira Princess of Power 7+ Year Member

    Hey guys,
    I was just wanted some advice about the lab component of these courses...
    I have taken Organic 1 but NO lab
    Now i'm taking Organic 2 WITH lab

    Should I get the 1st organic lab? Will med schools really notice AND care??
    I know one full year of organic is required..but does this include labs?

    I have this same problem with physics...i have the 1st physics lab , but not the second...

    Any advice you can provide would be great! :)
     
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. sandflea

    sandflea Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    791
    1
    Jun 23, 2001
    i believe that the full-year requirement of both organic and physics *includes* labs. so you may have to make up the semester of lab that you missed, but i don't know how you would go about doing this without retaking the entire semester of lecture as well. the best way to find out what you need to do is to check with a few med schools that you may be interested in applying to, and find out what they say.
     
  4. Amy B

    Amy B I miss my son so much Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

    4,304
    3
    Aug 7, 2000
    Virginia
    Sandflea is correct. You must have both lectures and LABS for both of those classes, as well as General Biology I and II plus labs, and General Chemistry I and II plus labs.

    My school offers Organic chem lecture (3 credits) and Organic chem Lab (2 credits) These are separate classes and don't have to be taken at the same time. Although you can't take lab before you have the lecture part.

    Our physics is taught as one 4 credit-hour course and you have to take lab at the same time as you take the lecture part. You don't have a choice.

    The schools will notice if you haven't taken. Every secondary I filled out asked for all my required courses and when I took them. Sorry.
     
  5. TechMan

    TechMan Dreams Stuff are Made of. 10+ Year Member

    410
    2
    Jan 13, 2001
    Amy Beth - did you take two organic labs or just one? my school does the same thing and i have only taken the one organic lab that is required for non-chem majors. it was a 2 hour class that was separate from the lecture. do i have to take another 2 hour organic lab?
     
  6. megkudos

    megkudos Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    530
    3
    Dec 18, 2001
    New Jersey
    Check with the premed advisor at your school. It depends on the school you go to.

    For instance at my undergrad we take two 4 credit semesters of Orgo Lecture and one 2 credit semester of Lab whenever we want to take it. That is all that's offered and needed.

    For physics we take two 4 credit semesters of lecture and two 1 credit semesters of lab which can be taken whenever we want to.

    Good luck!
     
  7. altaskier

    altaskier Altaholics Anonymous 92' 7+ Year Member

    640
    3
    Nov 12, 2001
    I'd take it to cover your basis at certain med schools. Like everyone has said, some med schools want the lab component of O-Chem as well! One lab won't kill you. Same with physics.
     
  8. Amy B

    Amy B I miss my son so much Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

    4,304
    3
    Aug 7, 2000
    Virginia
    At my school for my BS in Biology you have to take O Chem I and II labs. I agree check with the pre-med advisor, and call any med school you are interested in and they will know for sure.
     
  9. Doctortobee

    Doctortobee Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    670
    1
    Nov 24, 1999
    ?
    At my school the biology labs are included in the lecture grades and are not separate classes. How will med schools know that I took the labs?
     
  10. Wednesday

    Wednesday Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    684
    9
    Aug 12, 2001
    Doctortobee--The AMCAS application has a place to indicate whether or not each class included lab.
     
  11. Doctortobee

    Doctortobee Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    670
    1
    Nov 24, 1999
    ?
    What about for AACOMAS?
     

Share This Page