Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Organic and Physics Lab...?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by docmira, Jan 13, 2002.

  1. docmira

    docmira Princess of Power

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Post Doc
    Hey guys,
    I was just wanted some advice about the lab component of these courses...
    I have taken Organic 1 but NO lab
    Now i'm taking Organic 2 WITH lab

    Should I get the 1st organic lab? Will med schools really notice AND care??
    I know one full year of organic is required..but does this include labs?

    I have this same problem with physics...i have the 1st physics lab , but not the second...

    Any advice you can provide would be great! :)
     
  2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. sandflea

    sandflea Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    1
    i believe that the full-year requirement of both organic and physics *includes* labs. so you may have to make up the semester of lab that you missed, but i don't know how you would go about doing this without retaking the entire semester of lecture as well. the best way to find out what you need to do is to check with a few med schools that you may be interested in applying to, and find out what they say.
     
  4. Amy B

    Amy B I miss my son so much
    Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    4,304
    Likes Received:
    3
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    Sandflea is correct. You must have both lectures and LABS for both of those classes, as well as General Biology I and II plus labs, and General Chemistry I and II plus labs.

    My school offers Organic chem lecture (3 credits) and Organic chem Lab (2 credits) These are separate classes and don't have to be taken at the same time. Although you can't take lab before you have the lecture part.

    Our physics is taught as one 4 credit-hour course and you have to take lab at the same time as you take the lecture part. You don't have a choice.

    The schools will notice if you haven't taken. Every secondary I filled out asked for all my required courses and when I took them. Sorry.
     
  5. TechMan

    TechMan Dreams Stuff are Made of.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2001
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    2
    Amy Beth - did you take two organic labs or just one? my school does the same thing and i have only taken the one organic lab that is required for non-chem majors. it was a 2 hour class that was separate from the lecture. do i have to take another 2 hour organic lab?
     
  6. megkudos

    megkudos Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    3
    Check with the premed advisor at your school. It depends on the school you go to.

    For instance at my undergrad we take two 4 credit semesters of Orgo Lecture and one 2 credit semester of Lab whenever we want to take it. That is all that's offered and needed.

    For physics we take two 4 credit semesters of lecture and two 1 credit semesters of lab which can be taken whenever we want to.

    Good luck!
     
  7. altaskier

    altaskier Altaholics Anonymous 92'

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'd take it to cover your basis at certain med schools. Like everyone has said, some med schools want the lab component of O-Chem as well! One lab won't kill you. Same with physics.
     
  8. Amy B

    Amy B I miss my son so much
    Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    4,304
    Likes Received:
    3
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    At my school for my BS in Biology you have to take O Chem I and II labs. I agree check with the pre-med advisor, and call any med school you are interested in and they will know for sure.
     
  9. Doctortobee

    Doctortobee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 1999
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    1
    At my school the biology labs are included in the lecture grades and are not separate classes. How will med schools know that I took the labs?
     
  10. Wednesday

    Wednesday Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    9
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Doctortobee--The AMCAS application has a place to indicate whether or not each class included lab.
     
  11. Doctortobee

    Doctortobee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 1999
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    1
    What about for AACOMAS?
     

Share This Page