Orlando Regional

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EctopicFetus

Keeping it funky enough
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be doing a 4th year rotation there. I am wondering if anyone can provide any insight for me. I would appreciate it.

What are the pitfalls? Who is someone I should try to get a letter from? How is the work environment?

Thanks,
Ectopic

Members don't see this ad.

I interviewed at ORMC. They seem to have a well established program. Two of their residents are from my medical school and they have nothing but high remarks for the program. It's basically unopposed in the hospital because the ED overpowers all the other departments.

I used to work as a PA in cardiothoracic surgery there. A great hospital. However, when I tried to contact them as a fourth year DO medical student to rotate in the ED as an elective, NO RESPONSE TO SEVERAL EMAILS, LETTERS, or CALLS. They are very DO unfriendly!! I have heard this story from other DO applicants as well.

Members don't see this ad :)
great hospital. a rotation there would be cool. however, orlando is run by a nazi named sheriff kevin beary. be careful when you go out on the town there. you look the wrong way at an orange county deputy and he'll shoot you with a taser gun. orlando sucks as a city.

Ill do my best to avoid the taser. I should be fine out there as I have some friends who live around the town. My bigger concerns are related to who some of the bigger names are there so I can get a great LOR. Anyone know of any attendings I should avoid? Thanks a lot..

Ectopic

bcrosspac said:
I used to work as a PA in cardiothoracic surgery there. A great hospital. However, when I tried to contact them as a fourth year DO medical student to rotate in the ED as an elective, NO RESPONSE TO SEVERAL EMAILS, LETTERS, or CALLS. They are very DO unfriendly!! I have heard this story from other DO applicants as well.