Orthopedic books for interns

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hanky1982

Irish eyes are smiling
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Did a search on the matter, nothing of significance in the last 4 or 5 years posted on this. Reason I ask is that as a new ortho intern I found out we can choose a book/set that I will not have to pay for. I am looking to get a book that I will use heavily in my first few years as a resident. Of course I will add to my library, but funds are tight and I want to get the biggest bang from this opportunity.

What I have currently have (which most MS4's should have) is Hoppenfeld, Netter's ortho, Miller's, and Handbook of fx's. The list of books we could choose from was quite extensive so I was hoping I could get some direction.

The 3 that jumped out at me were Skeletal Trauma, Rockwood and Green's Fractures in Adults, and Campbell's Operative Orthopedics. The only reason these jumped out is that it seems so many seniors have these books. Any advice would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

The 3 that jumped out at me were Skeletal Trauma, Rockwood and Green's Fractures in Adults, and Campbell's Operative Orthopedics. The only reason these jumped out is that it seems so many seniors have these books. Any advice would be appreciated.
R&G OR Skeletal Trauma are good choices for general knowledge, and Campbell's is still a great resource, but can be a little hard to digest and contains a lot of "historical" procedures.

There is a new book that has been a hit at my program. Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery - 4 volume set edited by Wiesel.
Concise descriptions of pathology/epidemiology with step by step descriptions of hundreds and hundreds of procedures with thousands of color photos and drawings. Much more useful than Campbell's, IMHO. Designed for residents to include the knowledge needed to do well on OITE and pass boards.