Orthopedic surgery vs. dermatology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tcerm16

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm a third year medical student having a tough time deciding between dermatology and orthopedic surgery. I would appreciate any feedback on the pros and cons of each.

Members don't see this ad.

Orthopaedics is hands down the best field in medicine and everything, including derm, pales in comparison. Why don't you tell us a little why you like each one. Typically when I hear people picking between a surgical specialty and Derm/Rads I instantly think they would prefer to do surgery but are worried about the lifestyle.

I chose ortho because I love the variety in procedures/specialties. You operate on everything below the mandible. Cases range from wide open, minimally invasive, microsurgical, and arthroscopic. The outcomes are great and the patients really appreciate what you can do for them. You don't waste very much time with stupid BS, you have a problem and you fix it and move on. The money is great (for now) and the lifestyle is relatively flexible post residency.

My perception of Derm: You have a specialty that can be summed up in a rhyme a child could learn. You do procedures a med student can do. Acne is boring and will make up half of your private practice business. Cosmetics are boring to me (I know you don't HAVE to do cosmetics). You have ultimate flexibility on lifestyle. Great money and can do cash only practice. They do some great things for people with very uncomfortable and disfiguring skin conditions but I think the majority of their day is spent prescribing acutane, freezing off Seb Kers, Actinic Kers, and warts and putting steroids or antifungals on everything else. Also derm is under attack by NP's and chances are they will break into the field.