1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

osteopathic path to surgery

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by DangQ3, Dec 11, 2005.

1. DangQ3

DangQ3 COMP 2012
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Hi SDN members. I've read many posts and you guys have been very helpful to everybody with questions. I have a question that I really need your help. I am a 3rd year bio student. I found that the osteopathic path is better suited for me than the allopathetic path. However, my one concern is the path toward becoming a surgeon. I want to become a surgeon and I have heard that the osteopathic path is harder and more complicated than the allopathetic path. Is there any truth to this? If the paths are the same between OD and MD, I would go to an allopathetic school in a heartbeat. Thank you in advance, any comment is appreciated.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. medhacker

medhacker We can end world poverty!
    7+ Year Member

Hi DangQ3

It is DO not OD
    You may want to do a search since the topic has been discussed previously. In my opinion if you go DO and want to do an allopathic gen. surgery residency you will encounter somewhat more difficulty than doing an osteo. gen. surgery residency.

4. FS-Pro

FS-Pro Guest

Medical Student
    I'm confused, you say that the DO path is better suited for you, BUT you would rather do an MD residency over DO? I don't get it.

5. DangQ3

DangQ3 COMP 2012
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student

oops...i meant i'd go to teh osteopathic path in a heart beat...sorry for the confusion.

So, if i go the osteopathic route to becoming a surgeon, there shoudn't be any unexpected complications right?

6. laboholic

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]