OSU or Case?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cloverfield

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am torn between OSU and Case! I am a non-ohio resident, so I don't get to pay the in-state tuition for OSU. If anyone can share some info about these schools and help compare, that'd be great. Thanks guys!

Members don't see this ad.

I've seen/visited both. Case seems to be ahead technologically...they have sim labs and do a lot of research as it is a private institution. Case is also more clinically focused. Ohio State's main advantages are a)living in Columbus over Cleveland and b)a very nice clinical area to practice in. I haven't seen all of Case's dental school, but OSU just re-finished some areas and seemed like a nice place to spend 2 years practicing dentistry. You also have to consider cost, which might be more even since your from out of state. I haven't made the decision of Case or OSU yet myself, so good luck.

Members don't see this ad :)
I spent 6 weeks at Case last summer. The dental school and the students there were great but the area surrounding the campus is very boring and unsafe. Most of the students that I talked to at Case also had the opportunity to go to OSU, but still went to Case. OSU I have not seen as much of, but I have a few friends that go there and they all love it there.

Thanks for the inputs. I am wondering what their reputations are, since I am interested in specializing.

Take what I say with a grain of salt.
I believe the first your @OSU you are gonna pay the out of state tuition but you can present your case to the school and after completing their requirements you could be considered in-state and pay the instate tuition.

So for now, let's just focus on the strengths/weaknesses of OSU and Case that are not related to money. Money matters, of course, but I am primarily looking at the quality of education and the likelihood of getting into specialty.