OT as second career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OTwonnabe

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Did any of you out there get into OT as a second career? How old were you and what was your family situation? How much did you pay for your MOT program?

I am 36 and considering OT. I have 2 young kids. I need to here some encouragement since I am not sure if I can survive grad school with 3 young kids and full-time work.

I have considered OT for a long time, but my company is doing major lay-offs and I don't know if I will still have a job in a few months. I have a masters in Nutrition. I have considered doing a 9 month full-time internship to become a registered Dietitian but the startin pay is like mid 30s. I am figuring out I would be better off financialy sacrificing two years in an OT program since my starting pay would be int he mid 40s (similar to what I am making currently).

Members don't see this ad.

hi
There are many people who are in your situation now, many people did OT as a second career. I have to say it would be a bit difficult for you since your working full time but its been done before. I would sacrifice 2 years of OT school for more the increase in pay and stable job. In addition some schools offer a part time option for attendance. So I would say go for it, OT will be in very high demand in the coming years. I would suggest to look at the situation from all angles then if it works out give it your all. Wish you the very best of luck

I have to agree with caduceus. It's going to be an adjustment going from working full time to living on student loans, but I for one hope you decide to do it. OT is such a rewarding profession, and stable as well. I was in the same shoes as you and it took me quite some time to make the leap. I'm glad i did, it's worth every minute of it.

Good luck and let us know what you decide.

Members don't see this ad :)