Overcoming bad grades

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iPremed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I was wondering how the best way to overcome bad grades (1 C + 2C+'s +2 B-'s) all in bcpm courses would be. I have a 3.1 gpa currently which is really bad and I am a sophomore. I calculated what my grades would be with straight A's from now on and I could get a ~3.4 bcpm and ~3.5 overall by the end of junior year...would this still be too low or since the last 3 semesters before I apply are solid 4.0's would it be okay? I am thinking of retaking physics again (1 C & 1 C+) next year. If I get A's then, would it show improvement and so it would be better? or is it best not to retake them but to take other upperlevel classes instead? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

improvimg your gpa that much in that period of time makes a strong statement about your work ethic and ability.
while your overall gpa would not be outstanding, the recent trend in your grades would probably gain interest from schools, especially with a strong performance on the MCAT

It happens. Better now than during your junior year or senior year.

I got 2 C's and a C+ my freshman/sophomore year (all BCPM). Upward trends in your GPA are definitely taken note of. This is not that big of a deal. Just do very well in all the rest of your BCPM courses and knock the MCAT out of the park. Fortunately, my C's came in my 2 strongest subjects (physics and gen chem) and I did very well on PS section of the MCAT to somewhat displace the poor grades in those subjects.

Don't get down on yourself. It takes time and hard work. Good luck! :xf:

Members don't see this ad :)